About BC Ferries

British Columbia Ferry Services Inc.
Board of Directors

Donald P. Hayes - Chair

Donald Hayes is currently Chief Executive Officer of Vestis Fashion Group Inc. and the Hayes Group which has interests in retail, forestry and real estate. He previously served as Chair of the Board of the Royal BC Museum, Chair of the Cowichan Economic Development Commission and as a Director on a variety of Boards, including Forest Renewal BC, Truck Loggers Association, the New Relationship Trust, and the Khowutzun Development Corporation. He was also co-founder of the Doctor Peter AIDS Foundation. Donald has a Bachelor of Commerce and is a Chartered Accountant.

P. Geoffrey Plant, Q.C. - Vice Chair

Geoff Plant is a partner in the Vancouver law firm Gall Legge Grant Zwack LLP. He served as BC’s Attorney General and Minister responsible for Treaty Negotiations from 2001- 2005. Geoff's law practice focuses on public law and policy; he also serves on a number of corporate and community Boards, and he is currently the Chancellor of Emily Carr University of Art and Design. He obtained his undergraduate degree from Harvard University and has law degrees from Southampton, Dalhousie and Cambridge Universities.

Bruce A. Chan

Bruce Chan spent nearly 20 years in a variety of senior positions with Teekay Corporation, one of the world’s largest marine energy transportation, storage and production companies with offices in 15 countries and approximately 6,700 seagoing and shore-based employees. Prior to that, Bruce was with Ernst & Young, LLC in Vancouver. Bruce holds a Masters in Business Administration and is a Chartered Accountant and Chartered Financial Analyst. Bruce has served on several Boards, including the Royal Canadian Marine Search and Rescue.

Jan K. Grude

Jan Grude is President & CEO of Pacific Blue Cross, British Columbia’s largest regulated insurer, and British Columbia Life & Casualty Company, a wholly owned subsidiary of Pacific Blue Cross. He has 30 years of experience in financial services, insurance, and advisory services to health care, utilities, manufacturing and telecommunications. A former Partner of Ernst & Young, he has advised on large scale infrastructure, restructuring and privatization initiatives in Canada, the United States, and the United Kingdom. Jan is former President & Chief Executive Officer of Mellon Financial Services Corporation (Canada), a subsidiary of Bank of New York Mellon, and former President & CEO of The Buck Company based in New York City, one of the largest multi-national pension, investment and group insurance firms, now owned by Xerox Corporation. Jan holds the ICD.D designation and is a member of the Institute of Corporate Directors.

John A. Horning

John Horning offers an extensive business background as Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of Interfor Corporation, President and CEO of Seaboard International Shipping Ltd. and President and CEO of Interfor Insurance Corporation. John previously held the position of President and CEO of Pacific Coach Lines Ltd. He holds an Honours Bachelor of Commerce and Business Administration degree from the University of British Columbia and is a Chartered Accountant. He also serves on the Boards of the B.C. Pavilion Corporation and is Chair of the David Spencer Endowment Encouragement Foundation.

Brian G. Kenning

Brian Kenning is presently a Director on the Boards of MacDonald Dettwiler, West Fraser Timber and Adventus REIT. Brian is past Chair of the BC Cancer Foundation and past Governor of the BC Business Council. He was formerly a Director of Catalyst Paper Ltd., and Managing Partner of Brookfield Asset Management and a past Director of British Columbia Railway Company. Brian has an Honours Bachelor of Arts in Economics and a Master of Business Administration.

Gordon M. Kukec

Gord Kukec is an independent consultant focussing primarily on the impact of emerging environmental and technology developments on business transformation. Gord has previously held a number of senior officer roles in the international commercial aviation, business intelligence software, and commercial printing imaging technology industries.  He brings a diversity of knowledge and expertise to the Board in commercial transportation, IT, business innovation and energy sustainability. Gord holds a Masters of Business Administration from Queen’s University and has extensive experience on Boards of both not-for-profit and for-profit organizations.

Sarah A. Morgan-Silvester

Sarah Morgan-Silvester is former Executive Vice President, Personal Financial Services and Wealth Management for HSBC Bank Canada and former President and CEO of HSBC Trust Company (Canada). She is currently a corporate Director serving on a number of Boards of organizations including: Canadian Western Bank, ENMAX Corporation, Grosvenor Americas, Grant Thornton LLP and Grant Thornton Consulting. She is past Chair of Vancouver Fraser Port Authority and chaired the committee responsible for overseeing the merger of the three ports in the Lower Mainland to form Canada's largest port. An active volunteer, Sarah serves on the Board of the Vancouver Foundation, is Chancellor Emeritus of the University of British Columbia and past Chair of BC Women's Hospital and Health Centre Foundation. Sarah is a Fellow of the Institute of Canadian Bankers and holds a Bachelor of Commerce (Honours) in Finance from the University of British Columbia. She additionally holds the Human Resources and Compensation Committee designation from the Directors College.

Judith F. Sayers

Judith Sayers is a member of the Hupacasath First Nation and is currently President of the Nuu-chah-nulth Tribal Council. She has worked as a strategic adviser to First Nations and corporations and is currently an adjunct professor with the Peter Gustavson School of Business and Environmental Studies at the University of Victoria. Dr. Sayers holds a Business and Law degree and an honorary Doctor of Law from Queen’s University. Dr. Sayers was formerly on the political executive of the First Nations Summit and served on the Board of the New Relationship Trust. She currently serves on the Boards of Clean Energy BC, the Island Corridor Foundation and the New Relationship Trust Foundation, and Chairs the Joint Working Group on Heritage Conservation.


Back to top ^